A school bursting with pride

By Jon Moreno

Friday, December 4, 2009


A school bursting with pride

Harvey Fitch, 14.

A SCHOOL which prides itself on being at the hub of a Newport community, made its annual students’ awards evening a memorable one.

Guest speaker at Downside Middle’s awards evening was WO2 Dale Parsons, of the 4th Medical Regiment, Aldershot, who told the children what qualities they would need to demonstrate to reach the top.

The evening was sponsored by Island and mainland businesses, organisations and individuals and the awards were presented to students from both the Furrlongs and Kitbridge campuses.

Notable achievements were made by former Downside Year 8 pupils Sammie Howes, who now studies at Medina High School, and Harvey Fitch, now at Cowes High School.

Sammie, 14, earned an accolade for gaining an A* in GCSE Spanish, while Harvey, 14, won the Key Stage 3 award for earning an A in maths.

They were among a group of six gifted students to pass GCSE exams early.

Headteacher Peter Shaw said he was proud of pupils’ efforts across the board and the awards ceremony was a major event in the school calendar.

"The evening was a fantastic example of the type of school we are. It acknowledged the enormous range of achievements the children have made during the past year," he said.

"We pride ourselves on being a real community school in Newport."

The award winners:

Rising star — Jordan Smith, Jay Wherry and Chloe-Anne Booth; English Key Stage 2 — Courtney Long and Daisy Whittaker; English Key Stage 3 — Danielle Chambers and Christian Linsangan; technology — Jasmin White and Ezra Earp; PE — Charlie Marshall and Mia Attrill; sportsmanship — Toby Corbin; futures curriculum Key Stage 2 — Abbie Kellaway and Katie-Jane Orchard; futures curriculum Key Stage 3 — Jake Elsley and Luke Kingswell; music — Bryony Carter and David Littleton; ICT — Toni Cockerham and Katie Spurrell; extended schools’ services — Graham Darke and Richard Ereth-Purves; maths — Calum McFarlane and Ryan Mew; Key Stage 3 progress — Robbie Shepherd and Alice Greenen; art — Elfeen Babonau and Lauren Denness; Key Stage 2 progress — Jack Summers and Ben Smith; science — Jonah Ashurst and Thomas Speer; citizenship — Sophie Bishop and Betsy Allen; community participation — Holly Pritchard and Adam Kingswell; lifelong learning — Jill Kent and Joanne Parker; people at Downside — Lee Hayles; French — Samantha Howes and Jack Pomroy; progress — Samuel Gomm, Levi Wragg and Andy Cross; school council — Nathan Jordan and Charlie Barton; gifted and talented — Ella McDonald and Lauren Coombes; Headteacher’s Award — Josh Lyon and Lennox Dunkling; Headteacher’s Key Stage 2 SATS — Liam Hodges and Georgina Cave; Headteacher’s Key Stage 3 SATS — Holly Pritchard and Harvey Fitch; Headteacher’s Special Award — Luke Atherfold; Headteacher’s Special Award for community cohesion — Doug Gurr.

View our Elgin Traffic & Travel Map
Travel News