Island a step closer to massive funding boost

By Ross Findon

Published on Wednesday, April 30, 2014 - 11:10


THE ISLAND looks set to benefit from millions of pounds of extra funding after it was confirmed the government had approved calls to award area assisted status (AAS) to 28 out of 39 electoral areas.

The proposed map of areas to receive AAS support has been sent to the European Commission for final approval and is due to take effect in July.

Steve Butler of the Isle of Wight Trades Union Council (IWTUC), which had campaigned for the status for more than two years, said they were delighted by the decision and it was now up to businesses to take advantage of the opportunity.

The status, which lasts for seven years, will allow the government to award additional funding and tax breaks to support economic development.

MP Andrew Turner, who organised a meeting between himself, business minister Michael Fallon, Isle of Wight Council leader Cllr Ian Stephens and Isle of Wight Association of Local Councils (IWALC) representative Harry Rees, to discuss the Island's case last year, said the announcement was the result of all parties working together.

He said: "This is a real opportunity for growth on the Island, but it won't just happen; Island businesses and entrepreneurs need to come up with plans that will bring jobs and growth to the local economy. I will now be working with the council and the government to ensure that information is made available about how businesses can access the help and capital that will become available through this announcement."

He added that although not all the Island had been awarded the AAS status, the funding opportunities would benefit the whole community.

Mr Butler said a last minute application by Portsmouth for AAS had led to concern the Island might miss out and they were delighted by today's (Wednesday) announcement.

"What we need now are the projects. We need the businesses that are here to take this on board and make the most of this opportunity," he said.


Isle of Wight electoral divisions included in the map are :

Binstead and Fishbourne

Brading, St. Helens and Bembridge

Cowes Medina

Cowes North

Cowes South and Northwood

Cowes West and Gurnard

East Cowes

Freshwater North

Havenstreet, Ashey and Haylands

Lake North

Lake South

Nettlestone and Seaview

Newport Central

Newport East

Newport North

Newport South

Newport West


Ryde East

Ryde North East

Ryde North West

Ryde South

Ryde West


Log-in or register to comment on this story. See our House Rules here.

By ticking "Remember me" you agree to a cookie being stored on your computer - no personal data is shared.

Forgotten your password?

Any views or opinions presented in the comments above are solely those of the author and do not represent those of the Isle of Wight County Press.

Most Read

  1. New Cowes Floating Bridge launch delayed again

    Monday, February 27, 2017

  2. Fire at Rookley Co-op

    Sunday, February 26, 2017

  3. Car crash closes Ashey Road

    Monday, February 27, 2017

  4. Animal magic works wonders at Bembridge care home

    Sunday, February 26, 2017

  5. Cowes lifeboat launched to assist man in the water off The Parade

    Sunday, February 26, 2017

View our Elgin Traffic & Travel Map
Travel News