UKIP leader Nigel Farage celebrates South East victory

By Ross Findon

Monday, May 26, 2014


UKIP leader Nigel Farage was one of four members of his party to be elected as a Member of the European Parliament for the South East region last night (Sunday).

Although people on the Isle of Wight went to the polls on Thursday, the results of the count did not take place until last night (Sunday).

The Isle of Wight is part of the South East region, which is represented by ten MEPs. They will sit in the European Parliament, the legislative body of the European Union.

Following this result, UKIP now has the most representatives for the region, four, while the Conservatives have three. Labour, the Liberal Democrats and the Green Party each have one.


Total number of votes (by party):
EP results by party

MEPs elected:
Nigel Paul Farage (UKIP)
Janice Ann Atkinson (UKIP)
Diane Martine James (UKIP)
Ray Finch (UKIP)
Dan Hannan (Con)
Nirj Deva (Con)
Richard James Ashworth (Con)
Anneliese Jane Dodds (Labour)
Keith Richard Taylor (Green)
Catherine Zena Bearder (Lib Dem)

More News

1 - 2 - 3 - 4


Log-in or register to comment on this story. See our House Rules here.

By ticking "Remember me" you agree to a cookie being stored on your computer - no personal data is shared.

Forgotten your password?

Any views or opinions presented in the comments above are solely those of the author and do not represent those of the Isle of Wight County Press.

Most Read

  1. War mine detonated off Bembridge

    Friday, November 27, 2015

  2. Castle beats its £1m guide price

    Saturday, November 28, 2015

  3. Train services suspended

    Friday, November 27, 2015

  4. Road closed due to emergency repairs

    Friday, November 27, 2015

  5. Festival organisers' delight at awards success

    Friday, November 27, 2015

View our Elgin Traffic & Travel Map
Travel News Sponsor