Club looks forward to a bright future

By Clare Newman

Friday, June 27, 2014


Club looks forward to a bright future

Paul Simpson, left, with double award winner Andrew Brown.


IW RUGBY Club held their end-of-season awards night at Cowes Masonic Lodge, reflecting on a season where they maintained Hampshire One status, while having much to look forward to as improvements to the club’s facilities continue.

Colt Reuben Mitchell was selected as second team player of the year, while first team fly-half Lewis Murray got the nod as young player of the year.

Second row Andrew Brown was the big winner on the night, as he was firstly named as first team player of the year and then received the coveted players’ player award. Club stalwarts Nick Puckett and Neil Brading were also rewarded for tireless off-field work with the president’s and chairman’s awards respectively.

The club also held its AGM at the clubhouse lately, where officers of the club were elected as follows for the forthcoming season: president — Paul Simpson; chairman — Nick Puckett; secretary — Andy White; treasurer — Tony Newnham; fixtures and match secretary — Andy Puckett; membership secretary — Martin Newnham; coaching co-ordinator — Simon Samuels; first team captain — Dan Tennant; second team captain — Mark Westley.

The club is holding its annual RFU RugbyForce event this weekend, where volunteers will lend a hand to spruce up the clubhouse.

Details of pre-season training and some upcoming skills evenings to be delivered by outside coaches will be available on

More Sport

1 - 2 - 3 - 4

View our Elgin Traffic & Travel Map
Travel News