Dynamic duo lead awards

By Clare Newman

Friday, December 7, 2012


Dynamic duo lead awards

Multiple winner Chris Angus, right, with his Summer League partner Roger Nevell centre, and presenter Dave Williams, left. Picture by Robin Crossley.



LEE Orton and Chris Angus were the big winners at the IW Table Tennis Association’s annual awards night at Smallbrook Stadium last weekend.

Lee, a long-time member of the IW Island Games team, was part of the Division1 winning CPC Gladiators team and backed this up with individual success at the IW County Press Top Ten tournament, and joined Kathy St John to win the Brian Warne plate. He also picked up runners-up prizes in the handicap doubles with Blair Hobbs, and Hard Bat doubles with Bert Paice.

Chris, who has the added challenge of being a deaf player, defied the odds to win several tournaments over the year.

He won the Division 1 pairs competition with Andrew Davis, the summer league’s Columbia Cup with Roger Nevell, the Knowles Cup with his Vics A team-mates Dave Hilliam and Pedro Lopez, and the Hard Bat doubles with Bernie Forward.

He then came runner up in the veterans’ tournament and Hard Bat singles, and, with Dave Williams, came second in the Brian Warne plate.

In total, more than 40 prizes were handed out, celebrating all the successes within the sport throughout the year.

It has been a particularly good year for the juniors, who are now trying their luck in the mainland leagues and doing well.

Part of that team is Anna Joyce, who last year won the ladies’ singles tournament, and came second in the junior tournament, behind Blair Hobbs.

Press officer Mark Holbrook said: "It was a great night."

• Full list of award winners in the Friday, December 7, County Press.

Reporter: sport@iwcpmail.co.uk

• Pictures from our online gallery www.iwcpgallery.co.uk below.

More Sport

1 - 2 - 3 - 4

Most Read

  1. Volunteers rebuild road — but authorities are set to close it again

    Friday, October 24, 2014

  2. New Sainsbury's for Ryde

    Friday, October 24, 2014

  3. Wootton holiday camp decision

    Saturday, October 25, 2014

  4. Ferry revamp to include bakery

    Saturday, October 25, 2014

  5. Drumming masterclass in tribute to Isle of Wight musician

    Friday, October 24, 2014

View our Elgin Traffic & Travel Map
Travel News Sponsor