Young politicians elected

By Sara Bryce

Published on Friday, December 14, 2012 - 15:36


THE results are in for the Isle of Wight’s new Member of Youth Parliament, their deputy, and the new the Youth Council.

After the 966 votes were counted, Robert Selby, 17, was voted in as the Youth MP, with 14 year old Willoughby Matthews taking up the role of deputy.

As youth MP, Robert will represent the Isle of Wight’s youngsters at meetings held in London with other MYPs, meet with MPs, run campaigns and hold debates.

Robert, a sixth form pupil at Ryde School, said: "It's brilliant, I couldn't believe it."

The new council members will work on the behalf of their Island peers alongside the Isle of Wight Council, representing their views, influencing decisions that have a bearing on youth, and developing their ideas and projects for the future.

Over 970 ballots were submitted for the Youth Council, and the new line-up will hold their first full meeting next Thursday when they will have the opportunity to elect a number of co-opted members.

Youth Council Members:

Cowes and East Cowes

Oskar Mason

Natalia Kerr

Thomas Turtle

Zara Fuller


Kieren Thompson

Alec Webb

James Lush

Bronte Debenham


Freddie Green

Charlie Sherwood

Alister Webb

Sandown Bay

Chloe Nixon

Tessa Kewell

Ashton Helyer

Elspeth Venn


William Hall

West Wight

Atalanta Hersey

Christopher Case

The following candidates polled the highest results following the election of candidates to specific areas, and have been elected as general members:

Luke Belcher

Jordan Westwood

Julia Banachowska

Arife Sen-White

Lawrie Mason

Aaron Wilkins.



Log-in or register to comment on this story. See our House Rules here.

By ticking "Remember me" you agree to a cookie being stored on your computer - no personal data is shared.

Forgotten your password?

Any views or opinions presented in the comments above are solely those of the author and do not represent those of the Isle of Wight County Press.

View our Elgin Traffic & Travel Map
Travel News